The Occupational Safety and Health Administration (OSHA) of the United States has created a programme to promote construction safety by standardising. A set of requirements known as the OSHA 10 Hour Construction Course. Because of its popularity and success, many states now require workers to complete the OSHA 10 Course before working on government-funded jobs. This course is available online from an OSHA-approved Osha Online Training provider.

The following is a summary of the requirements for each state:

New York is a state in the United States.

On public works projects worth $250,000 or more, every worker must be certified as having completed an OSHA 10 safety training course. The goal is to require such training for all employees of public works contractors “prior to performing any work on the project.”

It is acceptable to take online courses from an accredited provider. A copy of a course completion card could be used as proof of completion.

On July 18, 2008, the requirements took effect.

Nevada

With 60 days of employment on a construction site, every worker and supervisor must be certified as having completed an OSHA safety course. Construction workers must complete a 10-hour course.

To enforce compliance, the statute provides for fines and termination of employment.

On January 1, 2010, the law went into effect.

Nevada’s Additional Requirements Supervisors must also complete the OSHA 30 hour course in addition to workers completing the OSHA 10 hour construction course. Nevada OSHA cards expire after 5 years.

Missouri

With 60 days of employment at a public works construction site, every worker must complete the OSHA 10 course. Even if it is only partially funded by local or state public funds, Missouri considers it a “public works” project. For rail crossings and public utility projects, there are a few small exceptions.

Online courses from an accredited provider are acceptable.

On August 28, 2009, the requirements went into effect.

Massachusetts

Before beginning work on the jobsite, all employees must complete the OSHA 10-hour construction course.

Because the Massachusetts law specifies “at least 10 hours,” the OSHA 30-hour construction course would allow the worker to meet these requirements as well.

Online courses from an accredited provider are acceptable.

The law became effective in 2004.

New Hampshire is a state in the United States.

For each day of noncompliance, the New Hampshire law imposes a civil penalty of $100 per employee and a penalty of up to $2,500 for the employer.

Online courses from an accredited provider are acceptable.

In 2007, the law went into effect.

Connecticut

All employees of any public building project paid for in whole or in part by state funding, or any of its agencies, where the total cost exceeds $100,000 must take the 10-hour construction course.

To demonstrate compliance, the OSHA 10 hour course completion card or other proof, such as a completion certificate, is required, as it is in almost every situation.

In 2007, the law went into effect.

Connecticut has unique circumstances. Every five years, the OSHA 10-hour construction course must be retaken. Site work, roads or bridges, rail lines, parking lots, or underground water, sewer, or drainage systems, including pump houses or other utility systems, are some exceptions to the rule.

Rhode Island is a state in the United States.

On-site workers, such as construction workers, contractors, project developers, site managers, and/or any other individual(s) working on a jobsite, must comply with this requirement.

All federal, state, and municipal government inspectors, as well as law enforcement officers and/or jobsite security, are exempt. Noncompliance is punishable by fines ranging from $250 to $950 per offence, per day.

This requirement has been in place since 2004.

Municipalities, both local and regional

This list is constantly growing. Some state universities have made the OSHA 10-hour construction course a prerequisite for employment. If you’re working on a government project, make sure you’re aware of any special requirements.

State Summary of OSHA’s 10-Hour Construction Course

Furthermore, the states of Nevada and Connecticut mandate that the course be retaken every five years.

In almost all cases, the OSHA 10 hour construction course taken online meets these requirements. And is a quick and easy way to get the training you need.

GetOshaCourses.com offers OSHA-approved online courses to assist businesses and individuals in obtaining their OSHA card quickly. At their own pace, and through a course that is up to date with the latest OSHA requirements. Click on the links to see a detailed description of the OSHA 10 hour construction safety course or the OSHA 30 hour construction safety course.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

instagram volgers kopen volgers kopen buy windows 10 pro buy windows 11 pro